You are kidding me right??

8 Jun

Soo the CT scan today was a frickin disaster.  Andrew wanted NOOO part of it.  None.  Basically he was like fuck you im not going in that thing ..  We were there from 830….Till 11!!!!!!!!!!  I kept telling the technician he’s not going to lay down on that table,  Can you just sedate him so we can get this done please,  So FINALLY at 1030 the lady brings in BENADRYL!  I’m like seriously?  A,  Your ass should have told me to give him some Benadryl before we came in.  We wouldn’t have had to be here for 3 fucking hours.  And B,  This still isn’t going to work.  I was so fed up at that point I wanted to just scoop up my kid and say goodbye.   Let me tell you why im so angry at the people who worked there.  BECAUSE THEY ARE ALL IDIOTS.  From the moment my son saw that machine we all knew he was not going to lay down.  He was scared…for heavens sake he’s only 3.  And they wanted to put an IV in him.  So they expected my 3-year-old to get an IV in and lay down and sit still so they could do a CT scan?  I mean seriously, come on.   They were getting pissed AT ME because I couldn’t get him to lay down.  I’m like, hello what the hell do you want me to do here.  They had shoved us in this tiny little room for 2 hours after our first attempt and then came in and gave us that Benadryl.  The Benadryl did make him fall asleep but the moment i picked him up he woke RIGHT up.    The whole thing was a disaster and I swear I think every single person in that office must not have had kids because they all looked at me like I was this horrible parent because I couldn’t get my scared 3-year-old to lay still on a big ass machine.   Finally I said this isnt going to work and i left.  I called his pediatrician and told him what happened.  We are now doing it on Thursday at the hospital so they can sedate him.

Oh for heaven’s sake I still feel the urge to punch that technician.

Andrew In the waiting room=)

He was wearing nahhhniees glasses=)

16 Responses to “You are kidding me right??”

  1. Invisible Mikey June 8, 2010 at 2:25 am #

    I’m so sorry it was a bad experience for your son, and for you too. There are VERY few imaging centers that can safely perform sedation on a child that age, because they don’t have the rescue gear or emergency-trained personnel if anything should go wrong – even though the chance is small that it will. It’s one of those liability issues. If they did it, they could lose their malpractice insurance or get fined so big they would go bankrupt and then nobody gets helped.

    You didn’t write what the exam was for, so I won’t guess, but if you email me I can give you general information about the different kinds of imaging exams. I’m a licensed Radiologic Technologist, but I also have been an MRI tech and worked assist in CT.

    • theadventureofmotherhood June 8, 2010 at 7:03 am #

      Well now i feel like an ass=) lol i wish they would have told me that. But the staff there was truly horrendous. My son has been showing signs of lymphona and other things so they are checking his belly to see if any of his organs are enlarged or if there is any tumors growing in there.

      • Naahnnie June 8, 2010 at 11:20 am #

        The techs there really were whack-a-doos. She honestly thought he was going to jump on the table and go for a ride. When he didn’t…she just kind of was at a loss. I just don’t know why she didn’t tell us sooner instead of keeping us there thinking some miracle was going to happen and he’d think it was FUN! I think the radiologist could have said sooner that it wasn’t going to work! WORST DAY EVER! OK…not really…but a pretty bad one in a long time!

  2. timethief June 8, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    I have heard a similar story in reverse. My neighbor is a CAT technician and last week a mother of a 2 1/2 year old went ballistic when she suggested that she give her child Benadryl. The mother caused a huge scene and screamed into the waiting room that CAT scan technicians were not doctors and could not prescribe or recommend medicine. Well it seems this mother also refuses to vaccinate her kids.

    I’d hate to be the technician in cases like the one I recount and your own experience. Technicians are machine operators. They are not receptionists who book appointments and they aren’t responsible for lengthy waits. If one or more doctors a doctor interrupts their appointment schedule by injecting emergency cases then they follow orders and do the scan. Technicians are not doctors, nurses or child psychologists. They provide medical services and not emotional support services. You simply couldn’t pay me enough to put up with the drama that my technician neighbor and you describe.

    I’m sorry you had a day from hell but just saying I don’t think your rant is justified.

    • theadventureofmotherhood June 8, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

      Well first no one told me that they couldnt do sedation till 11..right before they brought in the benadryl. They just sat us in this room for almost 3 hours. Not because they were busy. Because while we were there the whole 3 hours they only had 2 patients. They sat us in that room expecting me to talk my 3 year old into getting this CT scan done. Im not sure if you had to ever reason with a 3 year old but it just doesnt work. I was very calm and collective the whole time we were there. I assumed we were waiting in that room so they could get him into a different room to sedate him. No one told me a thing just shoved us in that room!! That is why im angry at them.

    • Naahnnie June 9, 2010 at 6:12 am #

      I’m sorry timethief that you think her rant wasn’t justified. I was there, and believe me it was justified. As a mother, anytime your child has to have something done that is scary, or it hurts them, it hurts you too…probably worse. My daughter didn’t demand anything. Didn’t yell and scream or go ballistic. She was actually scared, nervous, and cried when they said they would have to strap him down. I understand that the CT techs aren’t Drs. but you would think that would be trained in how to scan young children. If they knew that he wasn’t going to lay down on the table, they should have called the Dr. or the radiologist for the next step. Not put us in a tiny room until my grandson decided he wanted to do it. It makes no sense. Then the tech actually said when the benadryl didn’t work…”Well come back tomorrow at nap time after you give him the benadryl and we’ll try again.” HELLO?

  3. Invisible Mikey June 8, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    I don’t doubt that the techs handled it poorly from a communications standpoint. Here are the problems they were up against (and don’t feel like an ass – your Dr is the one responsible for telling you all this beforehand, not the techs):

    To image that area for that reason it can be done 3 ways – by MRI, CT or Ultrasound. MRI is slow. Even a high-field scanner would require the child to do breath-holds and the exam might take over an hour in the machine. CT is the fastest, requiring less than a minute, but for that exam it would also need an injection of contrast fluid – which is where the slight risk of anaphylactic shock comes in. That’s a risk you never want to take with a child unless you have all rescue gear and personnel right in proximity i.e. in a hospital. Likewise, if sedation will be needed to calm the child, they must have their pulse-oxygen monitored via a machine that goes on the fingers, and you need higher-level personnel than imaging centers usually have. Ultrasound is between those two in time, but it also may not show what they are looking for very well.

    Complicated, isn’t it?

  4. julie June 8, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    I’ve had similar experiences with both my kids – my daughter having X-Rays done at about 5 months old (we accidentally sprained her arm – don’t ask!!) and my son had to have multiple catheters inserted for tests when he had hydronephrosis. They do expect a lot from small children, but I guess when it’s your job, and you do it every. single. day you kind of lose a bit of that oh-so-necessary bedside manner…

    I hope everything turns out okay.

  5. Invisible Mikey June 8, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    I forgot to mention that the sedation for his age would most probably be a syrup like chloral hydrate, drunk 30 minutes or more before the exam to make him sleepy. He’s too young for a valium or other IV sedation.

    • theadventureofmotherhood June 8, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

      I really really really appreciate your replies. Everyone in that office looked at me like i was the bad guy for not being able to get him to lay down on that table! And i kind of wish someone would have explained everything that was going to happen and why. I have a much better insight now thank you very much!

  6. Mindless Rambler June 8, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    Sorry to hear you had such a crap time. You were nervous enough without all that, hopefully Thursday will be smoother all round. Thinking of you xx

    • theadventureofmotherhood June 8, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

      I was extremely nervous. I would randomly start crying lol. I probably looked like a moron. I am hoping Thursday i wont be so nervous because he will be asleep the whole time.

      • Naahnnie June 9, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

        I’ll be there for you! Don’t worry Chunkymunk. You weren’t a moron…you were a scared mommy. You weren’t rude or pushy or demanding at all. We just wanted someone to explain something to us…anything!

        You’re right…your more informed this time, and things will be easier.

  7. Mindless Rambler June 9, 2010 at 6:22 pm #

    Just popping by again to say I hope it goes better for you all tomorrow and I see your Mom will be with you again for support so that is good. Thinking of you xxx

Leave a Reply

